Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Fresh Bean, Chicken, and Feta Tostada? May 12, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 10:54 am

The lunches I’ve made have always been quite bland. In highschool I remember having sandwiches daily. I had them so often that I got to the point where I went on a sandwich rebellion and told my mom to stop buying deli meat because I would not have sandwiches! Throughout university rarely would I pack sandwiches in my lunch. Besides the monotony of sandwiches, I was also turned off by deli meat. Deli meat and mayonnaise are two things I really do not like, and coincidentally are the two things most commonly found on a sandwich.

After rebelling against sandwiches I found my lunches to be rather blah. Soup. Salad. That’s about as much variety as I got. That is until I started reading Closet Cooking. This awesome blog is written by a guy in Toronto with a similar problem. If you look at how he turned his boring meals around, you’ll be sure to see why I was inspired.

So today, instead of just having chicken with black beans like I did yesterday, I decided to make this meal a little bit more fun. I tried my hand at making a fresh taco-thing. I’ve never really had much Mexican food so I don’t know what this would be called, but I’m going to throw in the word tostada for authenticity. All I know is that the cumin spiced black beans, salty fetta, lemon chicken, and diced tomatoes worked beautifully together. It also looked very pretty, I do believe that presentation is important. For a little bit of sweetness I had a bowl of grapes and watermelon on the side. This was definitely NOT boring!

Black Bean, Chicken, and Feta Tostada?

Serves 1

Don’t be fooled by the picture. This was a small portion. That’s a 6 inch plate which is what I like to eat lunch on to control portions. With a handful of fruits on the side this meal was perfectly filling. 

Ingredients

  • 1 6″-corn tortilla
  • 1/4 cup World Famous Black Beans
  • 1 teaspoon feta
  • 1 palm sized piece of grilled lemon chicken
  • 1 quarter diced tomato

Directions

  • Place tortilla flat on a small plate.
  • Top with black beans mixture.
  • Sprinkle with feta.
  • If using cold/left over chicken then place chicken on top. (If using fresh grilled chicken then warm the beans and feta before adding).
  • Microwave for about one minute so the tortilla becomes soft, the feta melts slightly and the chicken and beans are warmed through.
  • Adorn with diced tomato. Enjoy!
 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.