Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Baked Pancakes with Pear reduction January 18, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 9:47 pm

I stacked up two quarters of the baked pancake and layered on the pear.

This is an amazingly easy and satisfying breakfast. When I’m craving something other then protein rich egg whites, here is one of my go to alternates. The pears add natural sweetness and I find more enjoyable then maple syrup.I sometimes use the pears on toast instead of jam. Heated through the pears melt in your mouth,the cinnamon highlights the natural sweetness, and the walnuts add necessary crunch. For a reduced sugar twist on a Sunday morning favourite, try these fluffy baked pancakes and tell me what you think.


Baked Pancakes modified from Lick the Bowl Good


3/4 cup Rice Milk

2 tablespoons Earth Balance Spread (this is lactose free butter)

1 large egg

1 tablespoon sugar

1 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt


Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray an 8×8 inch baking dish with Pam. In a large mixing bowl beat together egg, milk, and melted butter. Add sugar, then gradually beat in flour. Stir in baking powder and salt. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Top with pear reduction (see recipe below).

The pancake is fluffy, airy and nothing but satisfying.

Pear Reduction


2 pears diced or grated

palm full of walnuts chopped roughly

cinnamon to taste


Heat pears on medium heat until cooked through. If they release a lot of liquid drain it off. When almost at temperature you would like (I like it hot not cold) sprinkle in cinnamon (coating the top is good). Spoon on to pancakes or eat on a piece of buttered bread.

Comments: I’ve made this recipe before using a whole wheat and white flour mix but the pancake doesn’t turn out as fluffy. They still taste delicious and I may try it again, but today’s version gave me the fluff I was looking for. Being lactose-intolerant I use rice milk or almond milk, but using skim, 1%, or 2% milk will provide an equally healthy version. Walnuts have great health benefits and I eat them a lot, but I find that pecans complement the pear very well (I just didn’t have them on hand). Finally, feel free to try the pear reduction with apples instead.

Come on back for more great recipes to come!

More recipes coming soon.

 

2 Responses to “Baked Pancakes with Pear reduction”

  1. Jonathan Lin Says:

    OMG Celina these looking f’ing delicious! I wish I was home right now to get some of these in my belly. Make me some when I get home during spring break?

  2. Celina Says:

    They are totally awesome! I’ll definitely make them for you. Maybe I’ll try a new combination for the reduction. How does apple and cashews sound? Plum and pistachio might also be interesting.


Leave a Reply

