Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Blueberry Mini Loaves January 27, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 10:50 pm

The perfect ratio of blueberry to muffin.

Anything can be eaten at breakfast. Leftovers, salads, and soups are all perfect replacements of standard baked goods and cereal. Normally, I try to have a savory breakfast so that I can reduce my sugar intake. Although fat is bad, sugar is worse for our bodies. However, there are those days when I crave a moist, fluffy baked good. Today was one of those days.

My craving for muffins has stuck with me for months now. The Tim Hortons at Western seems to fuel the entire school population, and a girl can only take so much of seeing muffins before she has to have one. Unfortunately, I’m not the type of girl to blindly purchase an empty calorie food choice. If a place is selling baked goods I know two things:

1) I can make it healthy

and

2) I can make it better.

So today I whipped up a batch of blueberry muffins, or mini loaves in my case. I found this recipe months ago on a recipe forum and I modified  it to suit my needs (so dairy free they became). The great thing about this recipe is that I whipped it up in no time. I started at 8:00 a.m. and I had a hot loaf in my hand as I headed to my anatomy class. Since this was the first time I’ve made these muffins, I haven’t had a chance to play around with them. But I am sure that there is a way to reduce the sugar content although it was not too bad. Try them out as muffins or loaves, just adjust the baking time.

Practice portion control. One is enough. Enjoy it thoroughly.

Blueberry Mini Loaves

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup almond flour * see note below
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup grapeseed oil
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup rice milk
blueberries


Note: If you don’t have almond flour then pulse whole blanched almonds in a food processor until ground finely. You can also buy it already ground in some stores. Almond flour is great if you have a gluten allergy (although these muffins aren’t gluten free because of the white flour). It also has a very low glycemic index and almonds have lots of protein. Its a power food. Feel free to substitute milk for the rice milk and vegetable oil for the grapeseed oil.


Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.

Spoon batter into greased muffin tins or mini loaf tins (I sprayed with pam which got the edges crispy good). Fill about 2/3 of the way. Drop blueberries on top and poke down into batter with your finger.

The mini loaves took 20 – 23 minutes to bake. The muffins should take 15 – 17 minutes.

Makes 12 mini loaves or 18 muffins.


Enjoy

 

One Response to “Blueberry Mini Loaves”

  1. Jonathan Lin Says:

    This is cute, lol, better and healthier. I’ve given up on these things. Now my food choices consist of 1) speed, 2) … speed. I guess thats it. Just speed, dont give an f about what’s in it – so long as it allows me to survive!


Leave a Reply

