Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Strawberry Cereal Crusted Stuffed French Toast February 9, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 10:33 pm

Pretty presentation and crunchy French toast = Awesome.

Last week I was sick . . . Very sick. The kind of sick that knocks you flat on your back, with little to no energy. Dozing in and out of a flu-induced sleep, my waking hours were spent watching the Food Network (studying took too much energy). Being sick and all, my appetite was nonexistent, that is until I saw La Isla’s Stuffed French Toast. With a potent combination of creamy and crunch, this dish reminded me that I’m a big fan of eating.


When I was healthy and hungry once again, I took this indulgent recipe and dairyfied (removed the dairy) it. Soy milk was substituted for whole milk, which made my tummy super happy. Egg whites were substituted for whole eggs, which made my waistline happy.

Yup, almost gone.

Although, I wouldn’t say that this meal is meant for daily consumption, I am a firm believer that anything can be eaten in moderation. Training for the Arctic reminds me that what I put into my body determines how my body will function. It’s really important to take meals like these and celebrate them, enjoy them. Have them once in awhile and don’t regret it.


If I were to make this again, I’d have a hard workout before and then provide my body with these scrumptious carbohydrates. This is a great breakfast for a weekend morning or special occasion (Valentine’s Day perhaps). I guarantee they will be gone in no time. Enjoy.


Strawberry Cereal Crusted Stuffed French Toast


Filling

1/2 cup dairy-free cream cheese

2 tablespoons cherry jam (it’s all I had on hand)

2 strawberries, diced


French Toast

8 1-inch slices of raisin bread

2 egg whites

1 egg

3/4 cup soy milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cinnamon to taste

2 tablespoons of canola oil

2 cups of Cornflakes cereal, crushed (more if needed)


In a small bowl mix the dairy-free cream cheese, jam, and strawberries. Make slits into the crust side of the bread about 3/4 deep to form a pocket. Fill the pockets with about 1 tablespoon of filling. Don’t worry if it seeps out a bit, the crust will keep it from oozing.


Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.


In a shallow bowl combine egg whites, egg, soy milk, vanilla, and cinnamon. Beat until mixed thoroughly. Fill a separate bowl with the crushed Cornflakes. Dip the bread slices into the egg mixture and then coat in crushed Cornflakes.


Heat the oil over medium-high heat. When hot, place the stuffed bread slices into the pan. Brown on the one side and then flip. When both sides are brown, place the stuffed bread slices onto a baking pan and bake in oven for 8 minutes.


Remove from oven and serve hot. Drizzle with maple syrup and decorate with sliced strawberries.

 

2 Responses to “Strawberry Cereal Crusted Stuffed French Toast”

  1. Cassandra Lin Says:

    Celina, I would love to try your crunchy french toast when I am craving some deliciousness :).

  2. […] ago I promised to share two recipes. One was for stuffed French toast (which I posted already) and the other was for these great Asian lettuce wraps. So here are the […]


Leave a Reply

