Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Asian Lettuce Wraps and Arctic Update February 23, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 10:41 am

 

Awhile ago I promised to share two recipes. One was for stuffed French toast (which I posted already) and the other was for these great Asian lettuce wraps. So here are the Asian lettuce wraps, just a little late. This meal is really healthy (full of peppers and raw lettuce) and is also really fun to eat and to make. I mean, you eat them with your hands. How can they not be fun?

Before I share the recipe, I thought I’d share an update about my trip.

I’ve been in contact with BSES and right now we are trying to find a solution to an unfortunate problem. Being lactose-intolerant is not the best condition to have on a trip into the isolated Arctic. With a washroom that consists of digging a hole in the snow, having stomach aches is not favourable. Since we’ll be carrying in and carrying out everything we bring (including garbage), we’ll be living off of ration packs for a while. They’re light, easy to pack, and don’t take up much space.

Unfortunately for me, the ration packs usually have dried modified milk products. We’ve been discussing how I am going to deal with this, and if there are ration packs available that don’t contain milk. All I know is I will have a painful testing process. What will it involve? Eating ration packs for a day and seeing the effect. Sounds like fun. Tummy aches here I come.

Don’t worry the recipe today has no milk and is more than awesome! I created the recipe as I went, so my measurements aren’t really good. Try it out for a quick and healthy meal. Don’t be afraid to put your own spin on it.


Asian Lettuce Wraps


Adapted from Annie’s Eats (find dipping sauce there)

Flank steak, cut into bite sized pieces (however much you need)

Soy sauce

Sesame oil

Garlic powder

Hot sauce

1 red pepper, chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

1 orange pepper, chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

iceburg lettuce leaves


Cover flank steak in soy sauce (enough that the  meet looks dark, but not too much). Pour on a couple tablespoons of sesame oil. Sprinkle on garlic powder, hot sauce, and salt to taste. Let marinate over night, or at least 4 hours.


Drizzle oil in pan. Heat on medium high. When hot, toss in peppers and season with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Sauté peppers until soft, about 5-6 minutes. Remove from pan and place in bowl.

In same pan add flank steak. Sauté until cooked through. I overcooked mine but it still tasted great, so if you’re a beginner like me don’t be worried just do your best.

For the assembly. Remove a leaf from the iceburg lettuce head. Fill with peppers and top with flank steak. Roll and enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

