Dream it. Do it.

It starts with a dream, and ends in a memory.

Asparagus Fritter Fish Stack May 13, 2011

Filed under: Eating — Celina @ 11:30 pm

Where's the fritters?

If you’re looking for a way to add some extra vegetable to your meal, then you’ve got to try these fritters. If you’re a fan of potato latkes, or any kind of pancake for that matter, you’ll be a fan of this meal. What exactly is this meal? I’m not to sure. I just got creative and stacked what I thought would be complimentary.

Now you can see the fritters below.

The base was two fritters which were soft, moist, and delicately crispy. The asparagus was complimented subtly by the handfull of chopped dill which really picked up the flavours of the fish, that was stacked on top. I lightly dressed a spinach salad and the acidity really enhanced the taste of the dill as well as of the fish and the asparagus. See where am I going with this? The fish was soft, flaky, and added the perfect amount of salt to tie the whole dish together.

Can you tell that this meal got me excited? Not only was it awesomely healthy, but it was creative and fun to make. I highly suggest you try it yourself. Here’s my version of the fritters. I hope you enjoy it.

The fritter. Yum.

Asparagus Fritters

Adapted from Closet Kitchens

I purposely didn’t add any salt to these fritters because I topped these with a salty fish. If you’re not going to pair these fritters with anything, then season them up just the way you like.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound asparagus, trimmed
  • 1 handful dill, chopped
  • 1 green onion, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup almond flour (*see note)
  • 2 teaspoons oil
*Note: I used almond flour to make the fritters gluten-free (for my sister). You can use any flour.
Directions:
  • Process the asparagus in a food processor.
  • Mix the asparagus, dill, green onion, flour, and egg such that the mixture holds together. I had to add a bit more flour.
  • Heat the oil in a pan.
  • Spoon the batter into a pan, I made my fritters thin, and cook until brown on both sides. Serve topped with salad and fish or any other combination. 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

